End of Year/Decade: Cleaning House

It must be very clear at this point that I’m a terrible long-term blogger. Perhaps as a part of a blogging team I’d be more useful.  Then I’d have someone around to prod me into writing. Instead, it’s weeks or months of schoolwork that interfere with constructive blog time.  And that leaves me where I am now, doing what I like the most anyway.

IT IS THE END OF THE YEAR AND ALSO THE END OF A DECADE!

Stunning news, I’m sure.  Also, I’m sure you’ve seen all sorts of foolish end-of-whatever lists out there.  I personally love these things.  I realize they’re completely personalized and you can’t possibly quantify music so easily, but I love the idea of comparing great music.  Even more so, I love learning what awesome stuff is out there – there’s no way I could have heard it all.

Of course, as a blogger, it’s the law that I have an opinion to voice.  Thus, we enter my versions of the best of 2009/2000s.

THE SCHEDULE (AS IT STANDS):

  • BEST SONGS OF 2009 – Numbers 20-11 Dec 17th.  Numbers 10-1 Dec 18th
  • BEST ALBUMS OF 2009 – Numbers 15-6 Dec 19th. Numbers 5-1 Dec 20th.
  • BEST SONGS OF THE DECADE -  Numbers 50-21 Dec 21st.  Numbers 20-1 Dec 22nd
  • BEST ALBUMS OF THE DECADE – Numbers 35-11 Dec 23rd.  Numbers 10-1 Dec 24th

 

I hope to stick to this schedule.  I realize that my lack of input has rather failed you all again, but I’ve been organizing and thinking about these lists for a while now.  I love to think about music, and I personally love to decide what the best of music is.  Unfortunately for all of us, OK Computer was in fact released in the 1990s.  That would have made this all much easier.

At any rate, I shall see you all tomorrow with a brilliant list of songs from this year.  They are all great!

