Song Roundup 2: Past September

I’m really terrible with this updating nonsense. Luckily, I am occasionally reminded (quite harshly) that people do read this blog and that if I want more readers, I ought to post new comments. Thus, I now present some songs that are currently jumping around in my head.

“Reckoner” by Radiohead

Having played In Rainbows countless times, I felt comfortable in labeling “15 Step” and “Bodysnatchers” as my favorite tracks from the album. And then I discovered another gem. Nearly on accident, I stumbled upon this song. I had initially overlooked the tune because of the light nature and initially obnoxious vocals supplied by Thom Yorke. His falsetto, while always unique, just didn’t seem to connect here.

And then I listened to the percussion. Shakers and cymbals just pulled me away. How could I have missed this song? Building from the ground up, a solid groove formed the foundation for a winding guitar and Yorke’s now-appropriate lyrics. Then vocal interplay and drumming prowess further the cause, creating a layered, mesmerizing song, truly deserving of the band Radiohead. This is now one of the most played songs in my rotation.

“I Turn My Camera On” by Spoon

The first Spoon album I ever had was Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, a good starting point, but a bad way to examine the band’s past. Upon acquiring Kill the Moonlight and Girls Can Tell, I began to more fully understand their excellence. But now, I have Gimmie Fiction, and I am absolutely impressed. Quite literally, I have yet to find a single song in the Spoon catalogue that I would deliberately skip over. Everything is catchy, expertly constructed, and simply fun.

“I Turn My Camera On” is one of the simplest songs from the band (a basic groove – drums, bass, and guitar all locked onto the same beat), but is infinitely replayable. The basic human instinct of motion kicks in quickly as feet tap and the head bobs. By the end of the track, you either envision yourself as the coolest cat around (the song simply makes you feel more amazing than those around you), or you’re dancing like a goon. There are no mediums here and it’s perfect that way.

“Truck” by The Octopus Project

A simple electronic melody erupts forth and forms the core of this catchy, vibrant song. The idea sounds simple (and it doesn’t sound too obscured by other thought lines), but the song executes so well. A great pace and a feeling of absolute joy drive the song into your mind, following you around all day. It’s hard to keep a smile off your face as you listen to crashing drums and excellent guitars that pick up the electronic tune. Everyone should have this song, if only for a cure for depression.

“Dancing Choose” by TV on the Radio

One day after the release of Dear Science, and it’s clear to see why the hype is so loud about this album. Currently, it’s “Dancing Choose” that sells the album for me. Fast-moving lyrics catch you off guard, leading into an amazing chorus, stating “In my mind I’m drowning butterflies.” The production is top-class, and the feeling gained from the song is part-claustrophobia, and part-exuberance. It’s really hard to describe where the song leads you (the concluding horns are surprising, yet perfect for the track), but it certainly brings you to a different state of mind.

“I Will Possess Your Heart” by Death Cab for Cutie

The initial segment of this song is what really caught my attention. An excellent looping bass, drum and piano intro sets an amazing mood. Oddly reminiscent of Mogwai (although in a more upbeat way), I could listen to this opening sound for hours without feeling bored.

The proper “song” part of “I Will Possess Your Heart” is, thankfully, no slouch either. A mildly creepy lyric drives the discussion as the singer discusses a potential relationship. The strangeness comes in the description: he seems to be passing her windows, and trying a bit too hard to gain her acceptance. Yet even as the lyrics seem to raise an eyebrow, the music is fantastic, carrying the tune into your ears and mind.

Combined with the introductory material, the whole song is really excellent, and should not be ignored by fans of music.

